About the journal


Acta Entomologica Musei Nationalis Pragae (AEMNP) in an open access journal publishing researchfocused on insect systematics. It was established in 1923. From 2008 onwards, AEMNP is published biannually, accompanied with irregular Supplements.

From 2018, papers are published on-line first, and subsequently printed in two volumes  published at the end of June and December.

Impact Factor: 0.632

ISSN: 0374-1036 (print), 1804-6487 (online)

Formerly, the Department of Entomology of the National Museum in Prague has been issuing four publication series, three of which were discontinued and merged with Acta Entomologica Musei Nationalis Pragae in 2008 (see Editorial note).

National Museum
Vaclavske namesti 68
CZ - 115 79, Praha 1
Czech Republic

Digital archive compliant with ICZN requierements:

Also available at:

Acta Entomologica Musei Nationali Pragae
Department of Entomology
National Museum
Cirkusova 1740
CZ-191 00 Praha 9
Czech Republic
e-mail: aemnp.editors@gmail.com

Scope of the journal:

AEMNP is publishing papers on:
    (1) insect systematics, taxonomy and nomenclature
    (2) morphology of adult and immature stages and/or their biology with possible applications in taxonomy and phylogeny
    (3) phylogeny at least partly based on morphological characters (or with morphological characters mapped on the tree)
    (4) catalogues applicable for further taxonomy and biodiversity studies
    (5) general papers on methodology of insect taxonomy.

Editorial board:

Chairman of the editorial board: Josef Jelinek (Czech Republic)
Editor-in-chief: Petr Kment (Czech Republic)
Associate editors: Martin Fikacek (Czech Republic)
Jiri Hajek (Czech republic)
Igor Malenovsky (Czech Republic)
Lukas Sekerka (Czech Republic)
Michal Tkoc (Czech Republic)
Technical editors Martin Fikacek (Czech Republic)
Michat Tkoc (Czech Republic)

English language editors:
Jitka Aldhoun (United Kingdom)
Leonidas R. Davranoglou (United Kingdom)
Grey T. Gustafson (USA)

Advisory board:    
Michael Balke (Germany) Vladimir M. Gnezdilov (Russia) Ricardo Palma (New Zealand)
Jan Bezdek (Czech Republic) Petr Kocarek (Czech Republic) David Redei (China)
David S. Boukal (Czech Republic) Zdenek Lastuvka (Czech Republic) Alexey Yu. Solodovnikov (Denmark)
Freddy Bravo (Brazil)
Lubomir Masner (Canada) Pavel Stys (Czech Republic)
Gregory R. Curler (USA) Wolfram Mey (Germany) Sonja Wedmann (Germany)